Skip to Content

Jim Gibson

Trustee 2018 - 2024

Email Jim

01796 470 080

Jim Gibson

Candidate Statement

Passionate about the preservation of wild land, I adore the rugged beauty of Scotland’s hills and believe strongly in nature’s power to counterbalance the frenetic pressures of modern life. I admire the Trust’s vision and professionalism, and wish to continue to give time and energy to the Trust in its endeavours to preserve our heritage.

I have been a Trustee and Convener of the Finance Committee for the past three years and would welcome the opportunity to be re-elected at a time when many opportunities are opening up for the Trust to extend its reach and influence. Climate change has moved a long way up the public agenda, we have demonstrated our resilience during the Covid pandemic, our voice is listened to in matters of land management, windfarm policy and countryside visitor management. There is a growing realisation in society of how vital the outdoors is to our health and wellbeing; we have opportunities to invest in land and to work in partnership with other organisations.

My work as a Chartered Accountant in public practice has principally been with family businesses and charities; this has given me a solid business background and wide experience of understanding accounts, collaboration with partner organisations, “jargon busting”, robust financial management and charity governance.

Charities today require focus, flexibility and flair; we are fortunate to have a healthy level of reserves and I see our priorities in the next three years as:

  • exercising wise stewardship of our resources
  • advancing thought leadership about the value of natural assets and the journey towards reducing carbon emissions
  • staying focussed in the debate about climate change
  • demonstrating exemplary land management
  • supporting all our work with creativity, flexibility, and sound, sensitive governance.

Nominated by

Vivian R Davey; Duncan Macniven; Patricia Jordan; Bob Nellist; Val Nellist

Member since


Read Next

Steve Green

Read Previous

John Finney

Go to

Our Trustees